U.S. Futures

Thursday, April 25, 2019– UAE Time

U.S. Futures fell on Thursday ahead of earnings reports as the busiest week of the first-quarter season winds down, although Facebook and Microsoft surged in premarket trading after posting strong results after the bell on Wednesday.

 

Facebook (NASDAQ:FB) surged 9% after beating profit estimates and setting aside $3 billion for a settlement with the U.S. Federal Trade Commission over recent privacy scandals. Microsoft (NASDAQ:MSFT) was indicated up 5% after strong growth in cloud services led it to beat expectations with its first-quarter report.

 

Meanwhile, Tesla (NASDAQ:TSLA) slipped 0.8% after posting a wider-than-expected loss. CEO Elon Musk hinted the company may raise more capital, but predicted the luxury car maker would make a profit in the third quarter.

 

Meanwhile in Europe, Deutsche Bank (NYSE:DB) fell 0.5% after ending merger talks with Commerzbank (DE:CBKG), which fell 2.4%. The German banks cited the difficulties of combining two of the country’s biggest listed financial institutions.

 

Dow futures fell 115 points or 0.4% by 6:48 AM ET (10:48 GMT), while S&P 500 futures was down 1 point or 0.05%. Tech-heavy Nasdaq 100 futures inched up 12 points or 0.2%.

 

Financial results from United Parcel Service (NYSE:UPS), Intel (NASDAQ:INTC), Amazon (NASDAQ:AMZN), and Starbucks (NASDAQ:SBUX) are expected. 3M (NYSE:MMM) will also report.

 

On the economic front, jobless claims and durable goods are at 8:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT) and housing vacancies are due at 10:00 AM ET (14:00 GMT).

 

In commodities, crude oil rose 0.4% to $66.12 a barrel, not far from a 2019 high of $66.39 hit on Monday. Gold futures were flat at $1,279.25 a troy ounce, while the U.S. dollar index, which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, inched up 0.1% to 97.955, also a new high for 2019.

 

 

“Published & Edited By: Senior Financial Analyst. Alaa Tabib – Gulf Brokers DMCC – Regulated & Licensed By SCA & DGCX”

“Reuters & CNN & CNBC Arabia May Have Contributed To This Article”

Contact us

Whenever you are unsure about something or just require some information, we are here for you. Do not hesitate to contact us.

We provide 24/5 customer support.
From Sunday to Thursday